Creamed corn: My new favorite side dish

Oh…oh my god. Oh…wow. Wow. I mean, wow. Why didn’t I make five times as much of tonight’s dinner?

D is having some dental work done and is under doctor’s orders to avoid all chewing for three weeks. This has meant at least three things:

  1. We finally had that excuse I’ve been needing to invest in a Vitamix
  2. I’ve had to get awfully creative with mashed potatoes, refried beans, smoothies, and soups
  3. He’s missing out on the best of sweet corn season, and that just seems to be a crime
So today at the farmers market, in addition to the many smoothie ingredients I scored, I zeroed in on some amazing-looking corn and needed to find some way to get it into my non-chewing husband. I tried corn soup last week but fell short of the amazing dish I had at Gary Danko that ruined me on corn soup forever (a story for another post…) but then I remembered a tempting creamed corn recipe from an ages-old Cooking Light that I’ve moved at least five times.

The recipe calls for very few ingredients – fresh corn, milk, cornstarch, s+p, leeks, and bacon – but I found myself without the bacon (I know, epic fail) so I just improvised a bit. I cannot emphasize enough how yummy this dish turned out to be. It’s like the best of corn on the cob and the best of polenta together at last. The texture is incredible. The flavor is outrageous. And it’s perfectly suited to the elderly or dentally-challenged.

It also bears absolutely no resemblance to this stuff:
Creamed Corn

Low Fat Creamed Corn with Leeks

15 minutes
Serves 2

2 ears corn on the cob
1 tbsp butter
2 inches of leek, rinsed well and finely chopped
2/3 cup lowfat milk
1 tsp cornstarch
Salt and pepper to taste

Sautee the leeks in the butter in a large saucepan over medium-low heat until very soft. Add a little water if they crisp up.

Meanwhile, prep the corn. Holding one corn cob in a large, deep bowl shave the kernels from the cob using a vegetable peeler. This technique, as opposed to cutting the kernels off with a knife, leaves you with finely grated corn floating in a nice starchy milk.

Combine half of the corn mixture with all of the remaining ingredients in food processor or blender. I used an immersion blender. Then add all of the corn and corn/milk mixture to the sauce pan with the leeks. Increase heat to medium and cook, stirring occasionally, until thick. This should take about 5 minutes.

About

I make things. And do things. And think about things. And stuff. And whatnot.

Posted in recipe

Leave a Reply

Categories
