Soft boiled eggs for JSC

I think about my grandmother a lot on April 15 as this would have been her birthday. She had so many wonderful qualities that I strive to emulate including grace, warmth, and generosity. Most notably as it relates to this blog, she was an amazing cook.

There were four breakfast items, in particular, that stand out in my memory: belgian waffles made with soda water for extra lift, Quaker Oat Squares, blueberry muffins, and soft boiled eggs. She served the latter in the shell in delicate egg cups with strips of buttered toast for dipping. I always found them challenging; both the runny texture and the process of scooping out the egg with a tiny spoon weren’t really designed for the under-ten set. But as an adult I’ve rediscovered the glory of the six minute egg. The technique produces eggs not unlike perfectly poached eggs with none of the mess.

I made time this morning to cook a few and served them as she would if grandchildren asked nicely: over cubes of buttered toast. Had my grandmother been a gangsta I would pour out a bit of my Colt 40 in her honor. As it is, I’ll spill a little yolk instead.

soft boiled eggs

Soft boiled eggs on buttered toast

The technique is simple and can be done on any weekday morning. Boil a pot of water. Add two eggs gently — I use a slotted spoon. Reduce the heat to low and cook for 6-7 minutes. Move eggs to cold water for a second. Crack and peel (carefully) as you would a hard boiled egg. Eggs that aren’t fresh from the hen are best for this as they peel more easily. Serve over toast that you’ve buttered and cut into small cubes or on buttered english muffin halves. Really…it’s all about the butter and the absorbent bread product. Improvise.

There is no better breakfast.

About

I make things. And do things. And think about things. And stuff. And whatnot.

Posted in recipe

Leave a Reply

Categories
