How I spent 2010

Planning a wedding! Oh, what fun we had. Oh, what stress we endured. Oh, what a freaking amazing party we threw. Oh, how totally relieved I am that we’re no longer planning a wedding.

We loved how the details came out. Here are a few. Photos by Carmen Alvarez.

letterpress wedding invitations wood veneer

The invitation suite. Yes, that's letterpress. Yes, that's letterpress on wood veneer. Yes, they were awesome. Designed by Daniel, printed by Joel and team at Dependable Letterpress in San Francisco.

succulents wedding favors

We're obsessed with succulents, as was evidenced at our wedding. I insisted on individual succulent place card/favors. They turned out well.

Click here to view the template for the paper wrappers we used.

succulent bridal bouquet wedding flowers

Our bouquets and boutonnieres were also succulents. Designed by Zoe Farmar Bowers of Sebastapol.

Succulent boutonniere

Isn't it lovely?

Muni cuff links

Other things we wore included Daniel's amazing SF Muni token cuff links.

diamond wedding pin broach

And I wore the wedding pin that has been in my family for generations. The flower it sits in was custom made by the world's best seamstress: Glenda Pongiglione of San Francisco.

succulent wedding centerpieces

Our tables were set simply, with a succulent wreath at the center and a few frosted votives. Accessories by Ikea, and currently for sale by owner. Email me if interested.

succulent wreath centerpiece wedding

A close up of the wreaths. Best. Decision. Ever! Doubled as thank you gifts for parents, wedding party, and vendors. Purchased wholesale from Succulent Gardens in Castroville, CA.

Trione Winery stone building event space Geyserville, CA

The reception space was incredibly lovely. We were married at Trione Vineyards and Winery in Geyserville, CA in October 2010.

Trione Winery upstairs

We held the ceremony upstairs at Trione. It was rustic and beautiful.

Square ring bearer pillow grosgrain ribbon

This is the ring bearer pillow that I made for my nephew to carry. He carried two handfuls of Tootsie Pops instead. Can't win 'em all.

Grooms cake small wedding boxes

We embraced an old family tradition of sending guests home with a small piece of "groom's cake" which was a fruitcake made by my mom, godmother, and aunt using my grandmother's recipe. It was a unique and special touch. We served cake from Susie Cakes Bakery in Ross. It was EPIC.

MWoodward Catering

My one regret: I didn't eat more food. It was DELICIOUS. Can't recommend Michael from MWoodward Catering enough.

We were very, very happy.

Not pictured was our amazing event coordinator, Jackie Jones Wilson of Enchanted Weddings. She kept me sane throughout the process, and her incredible associate Lauren ran a very tight ship on the actual day of.

Show all of our vendors some love:

About

I make things. And do things. And think about things. And stuff. And whatnot.

Posted in wedding
10 comments on “How I spent 2010
  1. michelle says:

    your wedding is beautiful! where did you get the containers/pots for the succulent name cards? i am getting married in palm desert this spring and would love to incorporate this idea into my wedding. thanks so much!

    • emilye says:

      Oh my gosh — first non-friends-and-family response. How exciting!

      Thanks so much for the compliment! We got the succulents in those pots at Succulent Gardens in Castroville, CA. Those are actually just the little plastic pots that they come in, and we wrapped them in blue paper (from Paper Source in midnight) and added the little gold sticker (also from Paper Source) with the person’s name and table number printed on it using our home computer. I looked high and low for dressier pots — I had seen some on another wedding blog that were these tiny galvanized pots — but couldn’t find any for less than $5 a pop, which seemed kind of ridiculous to me. My husband made a template for the paper wrappers that I’d be happy to share if you’re interested. Just let me know.

  2. dena says:

    Hi! the succulent favors are beautiful. I am trying to do something similar for my wedding but can not find 300 of the same pots!! Can you please let me know where you found those cute little pots?

    Thank you!!

  3. Bonny Yeung says:

    I’ve been looking for pots for succulents that are not expensive! These look great. Would you be able to send me the template for the paper wrappers? How much were the succulents from Castroville? Thanks!

  4. Erin says:

    Hello there —

    I am currently planning my wedding and I too am crazy about succulents. Could you please share your paper template with me?!! Your favors looked awesome!

    Thanks!

    Erin

  5. Andrea says:

    I adore your succulents and I am totally going to copy you if I can afford it! I just moved to California and can’t get enough of succulents. I am getting marred in Sept 2012 in the Santa Monica Mountains, embracing and loving the whole rustic chic vibe.Thank you so much for sharing this!

    • emilye says:

      Thanks so much!! The succulents were so much less expensive than cut flowers, and it saved us money on favors, place cards, and thank you gifts! Look for a wholesale supplier in your area and don’t be afraid to negotiate! Have fun planning!

Leave a Reply

Categories
